Health Education

healthedHealth Education Programs are available to schools, community groups, professional organizations and the general public. Programs are intended to enhance community awareness of health needs, sound health practices, community resources and Division of Health services.

TIPS FOR YOU

SUMMER SUN PROTECTION GUIDELINES FOR CHILDREN


Apply sunscreens beginning at six months of age liberally and frequently with a SPF of at least 15. Reapply every two hours while outdoors. DO NOT APPLY SUNSCREEN TO CHILDREN UNDER SIX MONTHS OF AGE. Make sure children under six months of age wear a hat and are well protected from the sun's rays.
Minimize sun exposure, especially during the peak sun hours of 10 AM to 4 PM when the sun's rays are the most intense.
Apply sunscreens even on cloudy days, when 80 percent of the sun's rays can penetrate the clouds.
Wear a wide-brimmed hat, long-sleeved shirt, and pants during prolonged periods in the sun.
Beware of reflective surfaces; sand, snow, concrete and water can reflect up to 85 percent of the sun's damaging rays.
Use sunscreen with a thicker consistency to minimize the chance of sunscreen rubbed into the eyes. Try a SPF 15 chap stick for lips and face.
Teach children about the need for sun protection, since skin damage from sun exposure accumulates over a lifetime. One severe childhood sunburn can double the risk of developing skin cancer.

SHOULD CHILDREN WEAR BICYCLE HELMETS?
A bicycle helmet is the single most effective safety device for reducing head injury and death from biking accidents and mishaps. They can reduce the risk of head injury by up to 85 percent. Most deaths related to bicycle falls and collisions involve head injuries. Wearing a helmet can save your child's life. Sixty percent of all childhood bicycle-related fatalities occur on small neighborhood roads and the typical bicycle crash occurs within a single mile of home.

* In New Jersey the state law requires all children under the age of 14 to wear helmets. Click here for more information from the State of New Jersey.

SUGGESTIONS FOR CHILD-PROOFING YOUR HOME
Put plastic guards on all furniture with sharp corners.
Keep mini-blind cords tied-up well above the reach of children.
Insert outlet protectors on all electrical wall outlets.
Put safety latches on all cabinet drawers and doors.
Get poison symbol stickers from your local Poison Control Center and affix to all cleaners, chemicals that are stored in cabinets or on shelves. Teach children what these symbols mean.
Carpet stairs to prevent slips and falls and install gates at the top of stairs for younger children.
Keep appliances such as microwaves and toaster ovens out of reach of children.
When cooking, turn pot and skillet handles away from the front of the stove and teach children that the stove is off-limits
Install anti-scald devices, which regulate temperature, on all faucets.
Maintain a working smoke detector at all times. If your home has more than one floor, install one on each.
Install non-locking doorknobs on doors to closets and basements or attics to prevent a child from accidentally locking himself in.
Use night-lights or touch lights in all hallways and near stairs to avoid trips and falls in darkness.
Before allowing children to play with new toys, check for loose parts that may be swallowed.
Lock away all medications, even aspirin, mouthwash and vitamins. Also put cosmetics and colognes out of reach since some may be toxic.
Keep plastic of all kinds, including dry cleaner bags and grocery bags out of reach. These are suffocation hazards.
Store lighters, matches and any other flammable liquids away from children. Be firm about children not playing with such objects.
Practice the same safety measures in the garage as in the home. Store dangerous liquids, car care items, etc. carefully and out of reach.
Keep sewing equipment such as needles, thimbles, buttons, scissors and pins away from children. Let the child know that these objects are not toys.
Eliminate poisonous houseplants, such as philodendrons, from the home. Small children may chew on leave, or try to eat these plants.
Do not put heavy objects where they might fall over on a child. If possible, bolt these items to walls or put on lower shelves.
Know what your children are doing. Unsupervised children frequently get into dangerous situations out of curiosity or boredom. Check on your child frequently if not in the same room.

CAR SAFETY AND SEAT BELTS

It is a law in the State of New Jersey that all people in a car must wear seatbelts. It is also a law that all children must be seated in a properly secured car seat or booster seat in the backseat. A small child can become a missile and go through the windshield of a car if not properly secured. Don't let that happen to your family!

Airbags- Airbags can be a good thing, but they can also seriously injure or kill certain people and especially children.

Airbags "deploy" at a speed of around 200 miles per hour. If a person under five feet tall or under 100 pounds is sitting in the front seat and an airbag goes off, the force could literally tear their head off.

Baby seats should never, ever be placed in the front seat.

Children under the age of 12 should always be properly secured in an age appropriate seat in the back seat. No excuses! Excuses could mean death!

And hang up that cell phone and drive!



Contact Information

If you have any questions regarding this service, please contact .

Contact Us

City of Paterson, NJ

155 Market St
Paterson, NJ 07505
Get Directions

  • Phone: (973) 321-1600
  • Staff Directory